HomeTravel47 countries removed from red list in dramatic travel reshuffle

47 countries removed from red list in dramatic travel reshuffle

A total of 47 countries have been removed from the UK’s red list for travel in the latest government update, including South Africa – leaving just seven destinations on there.

The Department for Transport (DFT) announced that dozens of destinations including Argentina, Chile, Thailand and Mexico will be bumped up to the ‘rest of world’ (ROW) list, allowing vaccinated arrivals from those countries to England to bypass quarantine.

The only seven remaining countries on the red list are: Colombia, Ecuador, Dominican Republic, Haiti, Panama, Peru and Venezuela.

Transport secretary Grant Shapps tweeted: “From Monday (11th Oct) I’ll be cutting 47 destinations from our red list – including South Africa, with just 7 countries and territories remaining – all others will be included in the ‘rest of world’ category”.

At present, arrivals from red list countries face an 11-night hotel quarantine at their own expense, costing thousands per person.

The changes come in from next Monday, 11 October.

Stay Connected
Must Read
You might also like


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here