HomeSportsIn numbers: Team India extends limited overs dominance at home | Cricket...

In numbers: Team India extends limited overs dominance at home | Cricket News – Times of India

NEW DELHI: Shreyas Iyer struck his third consecutive half-century as India beat Sri Lanka by six wickets in the third and final Twenty20 International to sweep the series 3-0 in Dharamsala on Sunday.
Iyer followed up his scores of 57 not out and an undefeated 74 in the first two games with 73 not out off 45 balls as India finished on 148/4 in 16.5 overs with 19 balls to spare.

Iyer’s total of 204 runs in the three-match series helped India wrap up a third consecutive T20I series sweep. India had previously beaten West Indies and New Zealand by the same margin.
Here are the big statistical talking points after yet another series win for Team India at home:
* This was India’s 12th consecutive win in T20Is. India joined Afghanistan as the only other Test playing nation to record 12 consecutive T20I wins.
* India’s victory follows their 6-0 limited-overs romp against West Indies in the previous home series earlier this month.

* This is the second time Sri Lanka were whitewashed by India in a T20I series played in India. The last time this happened was in 2017-18
* India have so far whitewashed three teams 3-0 in a 3 match T20I series played in India – Sri Lanka (2017-18 & 2022), West Indies (2018-19 & 2021-22) and New Zealand (2021-22).

Instances of India white-washing opponents 3-0 in a T20I series

* India captain Rohit Sharma became the most-capped T20I player of all time. The third T20I against Sri Lanka was Rohit’s 125th match, which helped him go past Pakistan’s Shoaib Malik (124 T20Is) for the historic feat.
* Rohit is the only Indian cricketer to have played more than 100 T20Is.
*Mahendra Singh Dhoni (98) and Virat Kohli (97*) are the other Indian players who have played most T20I matches after Rohit.
* In the overall list, Pakistan’s Mohammad Hafeez (119) is at the third spot followed by England’s Eoin Morgan (115) and Bangladesh’ Mahmudullah (113).
* Rohit, who was named the skipper of the Indian T20I side in November, is yet to lose a game since taking over the full-time leadership role.

Stay Connected
Must Read
You might also like


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here