HomeSportsCricketRohit Sharma Replaces Virat Kohli as India's ODI Captain; BCCI Announces Squad...

Rohit Sharma Replaces Virat Kohli as India’s ODI Captain; BCCI Announces Squad For South Africa Tests

India beat New Zealand 3-0 in the recently concluded T20I series under Rohit Sharma. (AP Image)

The BCCI has announced Rohit Sharma as the new white-ball captain of Team India.

  • Last Updated:December 08, 2021, 19:25 IST

The All-India Senior Selection Committee on Wednesday announced Rohit Sharma as the new captain of Team India in ODIs. Rohit will take over the captaincy responsibilities from Virat Kohli.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Wednesday also announced a squad for the upcoming tour of South Africa. The Virat Kohli-led side will begin the tour with the Boxing Day Test, on December 26, against the Proteas that will be played in Centurion. The second Test begins on January 3 in Johannesburg while third game of the 3-match series will commence from January 11 in Cape Town.

Here’s the squad: Virat Kohli (Capt),Rohit Sharma(vc), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant(wk), Wriddhiman Saha(wk), R Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Md. Siraj.

The Test series will be followed by a 3-match ODI series. The first One-Day International is scheduled to be held in Paarl on January 19. The second match will be played at the same venue on January 21 after which the teams will move to Cape Town to play the final game of the tour on January 23.

(More to Follow)

Get all the IPL news and Cricket Score here

Stay Connected
Must Read
You might also like


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here