HomeSportsCricketAshes 2021: Stokes’ No-Ball Gives Life To Warner, Umpire Misses to Check...

Ashes 2021: Stokes’ No-Ball Gives Life To Warner, Umpire Misses to Check All-rounder’s Overstepping – WATCH

The second day of the first Ashes Test in Brisbane witnessed a bizarre incident that highlighted a huge mistake committed by the third umpire. Ben Stokes, who returned to the field after a long break, overstepped four times on the trot in his opening over. However, the TV umpire didn’t notice it until the all-rounder managed to knock over Australia opener David Warner for 17.

It was the 12th over when Stokes bowled an amazing inswinger while Warner was late on his defence. The ball deflected off the pads and went on to dismantle the woodwork. While the English began celebrating the moment, the on-field umpires asked the Aussie opener to wait for a while until they check if the delivery was fair.

AUS vs ENG Ashes 2021-22 Live Updates

The replay showed that Stokes had overstepped and Warner got a life.

After the incident, it was learned that Stokes overstepped in the last three deliveries as well but the third umpire didn’t pick it. Australia’s Channel Seven shared a video on Twitter and wrote, “Each of Ben Stokes’ first four deliveries to David Warner was a no-ball.”

Check out the video:

Meanwhile, social media also lost its cool following the revelation. Here are some of the reactions:

As per the ICC rule, the third umpire has to keep a track of a bowlers’ overstepping off every delivery and not just the wicket balls.

ALSO READ | Why Did Virat Kohli Fail to See the Writing on the Wall?

“21.5.2 the bowler’s front foot must land with some part of the foot, whether grounded or raised – on the same side of the imaginary line joining the two middle stumps as the return crease described in clause 21.5.1, and – behind the popping crease. The third umpire shall review television replays of the bowler’s front foot landing and, if he/she is satisfied that any of these three conditions have not been met, he/she shall immediately advise the bowler’s end umpire who shall in turn immediately call and signal No ball. See clause 41.8 (Bowling of deliberate front foot No ball),” the ICC rules read.

Get all the IPL news and Cricket Score here


Stay Connected
16,985FansLike
7,548FollowersFollow
52,146FollowersFollow
2,458FollowersFollow
spot_img
Must Read
You might also like

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here